The Forum of Contemporary Music Leipzig [FZML] has launched an international composition competition in cooperation with the Leipzig-based ensemble Tempus Konnex. Applications from over 50 countries were received in Leipzig. The prize winners have been selected by a top-class international jury. The jury consisted of the composers Dr. Oscar Bianchi, Prof. Dr. Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, JiYoun Doo (Tempus Konnex) and Thomas Christoph Heyde (FZML) and the conductor Titus Engel.

A first prize was not awarded. The shared second place goes to Rafael Rentería (Mexico) and Tobias Fandel (Germany), the third place to Jug K. Marković (Serbia)

The prize-winning compositions will be performed during the festival by the ensemble Tempus Konnex.